DCSD honors 2023 STAND Award winners with virtual ceremony

DCSD honors 2023 STAND Award winners with virtual ceremony
Posted on 05/05/2023
STAND Awards logoDARLINGTON, S.C. – Each school in the Darlington County School District, as well as district administration, honored students this week who display exemplary character and take a “STAND” against illicit drug use.

The annual STAND Awards – STAND being an acronym for “Students Taking Action, Not Drugs” - recognized 21 students through a virtual ceremony shared on the school district’s YouTube channel, social media accounts and website. Principals, guidance counselors and teachers each spoke about the students chosen from their respective schools, explaining why these exceptional winners deserved the honor.

The STAND Award Ceremony can be viewed by clicking here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QsPYGZ52l9o

The awards are presented to a student from each school who displays positive character, encourages others to live drug-free lifestyles, and seeks to improve in academics and behavior. The ceremony is the culmination of the district’s Drug-Free Schools and Character Education program. Winners are selected by their schools after completing the program.

Triniti Henderson, a senior at Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology delivered the ceremony’s keynote address. Henderson holds the esteemed honor of being selected as the STAND Award winner for both Mayo High and the Darlington County Institute of Technology.

Students from Pate Elementary School, Thornwell School for the Arts and Hartsville High School all gave outstanding performances during the ceremony.

Dr. Tim Newman, DCSD superintendent, offered the ceremony’s welcome, while Dr. Lilkenya Jenkins, DCSD director federal programs, gave performance introductions, and Carlita King, DCSD assistant superintendent for curriculum, instruction and assessment, provided the closing.

The 2023 STAND Award winners are:

• Abigail Watford, Bay Road Elementary School
• Marli Arryon Gaskins, Brockington Elementary Magnet School
• Sadie Norwood, Carolina Elementary School
• Triniti Henderson, Darlington County Institute of Technology
• Jazzmin Peterkin, Darlington County Intervention School
• Andre Thomas, Darlington County Virtual Academy
• Shamirra White, Darlington High School
• Naidelyn Jiminez-Aviles, Darlington Middle School
• Myliondi Bess, Hartsville High School
• Diana Sevilla-Duarte, Hartsville Middle School
• Tommy Cotton, J.L. Cain Elementary School
• Kamori Scipio, Lamar High School
• Lauren Knotts, Lamar-Spaulding Elementary School
• Triniti Henderson, Mayo High School for Math, Science and Technology
• Bella Kaylen Smith, North Hartsville Elementary School
• Avery Lancto-Henderson, Pate Elementary School
• Dahrain Forrest, Rosenwald Elementary and Middle School
• Desmond Coe, Southside Early Childhood Center
• Tristan Collins, Spaulding Middle School
• Madison Locklair, St. John’s Elementary School
• Leticia Alejos, Thornwell School for the Arts